Skip to Content

Articles, News & Updates

New! Thought and Knowledge: An Introduction to Critical Thinking, 5th Edition

Request your complimentary exam copy of Thought and Knowledge, Fifth Edition today! Click here for more details.

This best-selling textbook, written by award-winning educator and past president of the American Psychological Association, Diane F. Halpern, applies theory and research from the learning sciences to teach students the thinking skills they need to succeed in today's world. This new edition retains features from earlier editions that have helped its readers become better thinkers. A rigorous academic grounding based in cognitive psychology is presented in a clear writing style with a humorous tone and supported by numerous practical examples and anecdotes.

Thought and Knowledge, Fifth Edition has been revised to help students meet the challenges of a global neighborhood and make meaningful conclusions from the overwhelming quantity of information now available at the click of a mouse. The skills learned with this text will help students learn more efficiently, research more productively, and present logical, informed arguments.

To receive your complimentary exam copy for your upcoming course, please click here.

Learn more about the author:

Diane F. Halpern is the McElwee Family Professor of Psychology and Roberts Fellow at Claremont McKenna College. She is a past president of the American Psychological Association, the Western Psychological Association, the Society for General Psychology, and the Society for the Teaching of Psychology.

Professor Halpern has won many awards for her teaching and research, including the James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award from the Association for Psychological Science (2013); the Arthur W. Staats Lecture on Unifying Psychology Award from the American Psychological Association (2013); Outstanding Professor Award from the Western Psychological Association (2002); American Psychological Foundation Award for Distinguished Teaching (1999); Distinguished Career Award for Contributions to Education from the American Psychological Association (1996); and the California State University's State-Wide Outstanding Professor Award.