Skip to Content

Intelligent Tutoring Systems

Evolutions in Design

Edited by Hugh Burns, Carol A. Luckhardt, Hugh Burns, James W. Parlett, Carol L. Redfield

Psychology Press – 1991 – 312 pages

Purchasing Options:

  • Add to CartPaperback: $63.95
    978-0-8058-0683-0
    February 1st 1991
  • Add to CartHardback: $150.00
    978-0-8058-0682-3
    February 28th 1991

Description

This is a collection of essays on issues related to the evolutionary design and the practical future of intelligent tutoring systems. Following in the tradition of Foundations of Intelligent Tutoring Systems and Intelligent Tutoring Systems: Lessons Learned, this volume examines some of the visions and near-term issues that have been further explored and better defined since those groundbreaking books first appeared. Questions addressed in this volume include:

*How can knowledge bases generate explanations?

*Will case-based reasoning techniques be worth pursuing in the ITS framework?

*Will high performance skills be successfully taught in an ITS design?

*Are there dimensions of ITS design which the research laboratories are ignoring, and ignoring at the customer's peril?

Of particular importance to those engaged in research and development, this book will be of value to all who wish to apprise themselves of the advances being made in the rapidly evolving field of intelligent tutoring systems.

Contents

Contents: H.L. Burns, Jr., J.W. Parlett, The Evolution of Intelligent Tutoring Systems: Dimension of Design. K.M. Swigger, Managing Communication Knowledge. J. Bonar, Interface Architectures for Intelligent Tutoring Systems. H.F. O'Neil, Jr., D.A. Slawson, E.L. Baker, Design of a Domain-Independent Problem- Solving Instructional Strategy for Intelligent Computer-Assisted Instruction. P. Pirolli, Computer-Aided Instructional Design Systems. B. Woolf, Representing, Acquiring, and Reasoning About Tutoring Knowledge. L. Acker, J. Lester, A. Souther, B. Porter, Generating Coherent Explanations to Answer Students' Questions. C.K. Riesbeck, R.C. Schank, From Training to Teaching: Techniques for Case-Based ITS. P.K. Fink, The Role of Domain Knowledge in the Design of an Intelligent Tutoring System. W. Regian, Representing and Teaching High-Performance Tasks Within Intelligent Tutoring Systems. E.L. Baker, Technology Assessment: Policy and Methodological Issues for Training. C.A.L. Redfield, K. Steuck, The Future of Intelligent Tutoring Systems.

Name: Intelligent Tutoring Systems: Evolutions in Design (Paperback)Psychology Press 
Description: Edited by Hugh Burns, Carol A. Luckhardt, Hugh Burns, James W. Parlett, Carol L. Redfield. This is a collection of essays on issues related to the evolutionary design and the practical future of intelligent tutoring systems. Following in the tradition of Foundations of Intelligent Tutoring Systems and Intelligent Tutoring Systems: Lessons...
Categories: Cognitive Science, Connectionism/Neural Nets