Skip to Content

Book Series

Routledge Critical Studies in Finance and Stability

Series Editor: Jan Toporowski

The 2007-8 Banking Crash has induced a major and wide-ranging discussion on the subject of financial (in)stability and a need to revaluate theory and policy. The response of policy-makers to the crisis has been to refocus fiscal and monetary policy on financial stabilisation and reconstruction. However, this has been done with only vague ideas of bank recapitalisation and ‘Keynesian’ reflation aroused by the exigencies of the crisis, rather than the application of any systematic theory or theories of financial instability.

Routledge Critical Studies in Finance and Stability, edited by Jan Toporowski from SOAS, University of London covers a range of issues in the area of finance including instability, systemic failure, financial macroeconomics in the vein of Hyman P. Minsky, Ben Bernanke and Mark Gertler, central bank operations, financial regulation, developing countries and financial crises, new portfolio theory and New International Monetary and Financial Architecture.

New and Published Books

1-3 of 3 results in Routledge Critical Studies in Finance and Stability
  • Page:
  • 1
  1. Banking Systems in the Crisis

    The Faces of Liberal Capitalism

    Edited by Suzanne J. Konzelmann, Marc Fovargue-Davies

    Series: Routledge Critical Studies in Finance and Stability

    The 2008 financial crisis has severely shaken confidence in liberal economic theory and policy. However, the sharply divergent experiences of the six Anglo-Saxon ‘liberal market economies’ (LMEs) suggest that the reality is not so simple. This book traces the evolution of liberal capitalism, from...

    Published June 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  2. The Rise and Fall of Money Manager Capitalism

    Minsky's half century from world war two to the great recession

    By Eric Tymoigne, L. Randall Wray

    Series: Routledge Critical Studies in Finance and Stability

    The book studies the trends that led to the worst financial crisis since the Great Depression, as well as the unfolding of the crisis, in order to provide policy recommendations to improve financial stability. The book starts with changes in monetary policy and income distribution from the 1970s....

    Published July 25th 2013 by Routledge

  3. Post-Keynesian Views of the Crisis and its Remedies

    Edited by Óscar Dejuán, Eladio Febrero Paños, Jorge Uxo Gonzalez

    Series: Routledge Critical Studies in Finance and Stability

    At the end of the 20th century, mainstream economics was based on theories which viewed capitalism as a self-regulating system, whereby crises come about due to external shocks and would be automatically corrected by the price mechanism if it was flexible enough. Post-Keynesian economists, however,...

    Published April 24th 2013 by Routledge

  • Page:
  • 1

Forthcoming Books

  1. Cycles, Growth and the Great Recession
    Edited by Annalisa Cristini, Stephen Fazzari, Edward Greenberg, Riccardo Leoni
    To Be Published November 17th 2014
  2. Liquidity Preference and Monetary Economies
    By Fernando J. Cardim de Carvalho
    To Be Published August 31st 2015

Search for Book Series