Skip to Content

Book Series

Philosophers in Focus

New and Published Books

1-9 of 9 results in Philosophers in Focus
  • Page:
  • 1
  1. Plato's Meno In Focus

    Edited by Jane M. Day

    Series: Philosophers in Focus

    In one volume, this book brings together a new English translation of Plato's Meno, a selection of illuminating articles on themes in the dialogue published between 1965 and 1985 and an introduction setting the Meno in its historical context and opening up the key philosophical issues which the...

    Published February 27th 2014 by Routledge

  2. Immanuel Kant's Prolegomena to Any Future Metaphysics in Focus

    By Beryl Logan

    Series: Philosophers in Focus

    This collection of seminal essays on the Prolegomena provides the student of philosophy with an invaluable overview of the issues and problems raised by Kant. Starting with the Carus translation of Kant's work, the edition offers a substantive new introduction, six papers never before published...

    Published November 7th 1996 by Routledge

  3. Rene Descartes' Meditations on First Philosophy in Focus

    Edited by Stanley Tweyman

    Series: Philosophers in Focus

    This volume presents the excellent and popular translation by Haldane and Ross of Descartes' Meditations on First Philosophy, an introduction by Stanley Tweyman which explores the relevance of Descartes' Regulae and his method of analysis in the Meditations, and six articles which indicate the...

    Published November 18th 1993 by Routledge

  4. George Berkeley Alciphron in Focus

    Edited by David Berman

    Series: Philosophers in Focus

    Alciphron, or the Minute Philosopher (1732) is Berkeley's main work of philosophical theology and a crucial source of his views on meaning and language. This edition contains the four most important dialogues and a selection of critical essays and commentaries reflecting the response of such...

    Published March 25th 1993 by Routledge

  5. William James Pragmatism in Focus

    Edited by Doris Olin

    Series: Philosophers in Focus

    First published in 1992. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company....

    Published July 30th 1992 by Routledge

  6. John Locke's Letter on Toleration in Focus

    Edited by John Horton, Susan Mendus

    Series: Philosophers in Focus

    Though several editions of Locke's Letter of Toleration art available, the unique value of this volume lies in the fact that it conbines both the text of the Letter and interpretative, critical essays. Several essays are reprints of the most important articles on the Letter, but there is also new...

    Published September 5th 1991 by Routledge

  7. J.S. Mill's On Liberty in Focus

    Edited by John Gray, G. W. Smith

    Series: Philosophers in Focus

    This volume brings together J.S. Mills On Liberty and a selection of important essays by such eminent scholars as Isaiah Berlin, Alan Ryan, John Rees, C.L. Ten and Richard Wollheim. As well as providing authoritative commentary upon On Liberty, the essays reflect a broader debate about the...

    Published July 11th 1991 by Routledge

  8. Civil Disobedience in Focus

    Edited by Hugo Adam Bedau

    Series: Philosophers in Focus

    The issues surrounding civil disobedience have been discussed since at least 399 BC and, in the wake of such recent events as the protest at Tiananmen Square, are still of great relevance. By presenting classic and current philosophical reflections on the issues, this book presents all the basic...

    Published May 2nd 1991 by Routledge

  9. Godel's Theorem in Focus

    Edited by S.G. Shanker

    Series: Philosophers in Focus

    A layman's guide to the mechanics of Gödel's proof together with a lucid discussion of the issues which it raises. Includes an essay discussing the significance of Gödel's work in the light of Wittgenstein's criticisms....

    Published November 26th 1987 by Routledge

  • Page:
  • 1

Forthcoming Books

  1. William James Pragmatism in Focus
    Edited by Doris Olin
    To Be Published August 17th 2015

Search for Book Series