Skip to Content

Book Series

Government Official History Series

The Government Official History series began in 1919 with wartime histories, and the peacetime series was inaugurated in 1966 by Harold Wilson. The aim of the series is to produce major histories in their own right, compiled by historians eminent in the field, who are afforded free access to all relevant material in the official archives. The Histories also provide a trusted secondary source for other historians and researchers while the official records are not in the public domain. The main criteria for selection of topics are that the histories should record important episodes or themes of British history while the official records can still be supplemented by the recollections of key players; and that they should be of general interest, and, preferably, involve the records of more than one government department.

New and Published Books

11-16 of 16 results in Government Official History Series
  1. The Official History of the Falklands Campaign, Volume 2

    War and Diplomacy

    By Lawrence Freedman

    Series: Government Official History Series

    In the second volume of his official history of the Falklands Campaign, Lawrence Freedman provides a detailed and authoritative account of one of the most extraordinary periods in recent British political history and a vivid portrayal of a government at war. After the shock of the Argentine...

    Published June 27th 2007 by Routledge

  2. The Official History of Britain and the Channel Tunnel

    By Terry Gourvish

    Series: Government Official History Series

    Commissioned by the Cabinet Office and using hitherto untapped British Government records, this book presents an in-depth analysis of the successful project of 1986-94. This is a vivid portrayal of the complexities of quadripartite decision-making (two countries, plus the public and...

    Published June 29th 2006 by Routledge

  3. SOE in France

    An Account of the Work of the British Special Operations Executive in France 1940-1944

    By M.R.D. Foot

    Series: Government Official History Series

    SOE in France was first published in 1966, followed by a second impression with amendments in 1968. Since these editions were published, other material on SOE has become available. It was, therefore, agreed in 2000 that Professor Foot should produce a revised version. In so doing, in addition to...

    Published April 5th 2006 by Routledge

  4. Secret Flotillas

    Vol. II: Clandestine Sea Operations in the Western Mediterranean, North Africa and the Adriatic, 1940-1944

    By Brooks Richards

    Series: Government Official History Series

    This authoritative publication by the official historian, the late Sir Brooks Richards, vividly describes and analyses the clandestine naval operations that took place during World War II. The account has been made possible through Sir Brooks' access to closed government archives, combined with his...

    Published March 3rd 2004 by Routledge

  5. Secret Flotillas

    Vol. I: Clandestine Sea Operations to Brittany, 1940-1944

    By Brooks Richards

    Series: Government Official History Series

    With the fall of France, almost the entire coastline of Western Europe was in German hands. Clandestine sea transport operations provided lines of vital intelligence for wartime Britain. These 'secret flotillas' landed and picked up agents in and from France, and ferried Allied evaders and escapees...

    Published March 3rd 2004 by Routledge

  6. External Economic Policy Since the War, Volume 2

    By L. S. Pressnell

    Series: Government Official History Series

    Britain's external economic policy, from the end of the Second World War up to 1960, was dominated by the threefold constraints of the War's financial consequences, dependence on post-war American aid, and commitments to liberalised international trade and payments. Professor Pressnell gives...

    Published February 28th 2002 by Routledge