Skip to Content

Book Series

Student Sport Studies

Series Editor: Professor J A Mangan, Frank Galligan

New and Published Books

1-4 of 4 results in Student Sport Studies
  • Page:
  • 1
  1. In Pursuit of Excellence

    A Student Guide to Elite Sports Development

    By Michael Hill

    Series: Student Sport Studies

    Competitive sport is today about winning and training to win. Many athletes are professionals, with careers managed by teams of specialist staff working towards the ultimate goal of world-class, medal-winning performances. This entry-level text offers new students a comprehensive introduction to...

    Published May 18th 2007 by Routledge

  2. The Story of Sport in England

    By Neil Wigglesworth

    Series: Student Sport Studies

    This book gives a fascinating history of the English experience of sport, following its development through the centuries from its earliest beginnings in social play and pastimes, via its adoption as an alternative to the clock-watching routine of urban life, to its modern incarnation as a&...

    Published March 9th 2007 by Routledge

  3. Acquiring Skill in Sport: An Introduction

    By John Honeybourne

    Series: Student Sport Studies

    This user-friendly, accessible text will enable new students to understand the basic concepts of sport skills acquisition. Each chapter covers important theoretical background and shows how this theory can be applied through practical examples from the world of sport. The book also...

    Published August 7th 2006 by Routledge

  4. The Olympic Games Explained

    A Student Guide to the Evolution of the Modern Olympic Games

    By Jim Parry, Vassil Girginov

    Series: Student Sport Studies

    An awesome festival of sporting excellence and competition, the Olympic Games have now evolved into a major international event with great cultural, political, economic and social importance. The Olympic Games Explained is an introductory guide to the history and meaning of the four-yearly...

    Published March 1st 2005 by Routledge

  • Page:
  • 1

Search for Book Series