Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Psychological Science Books

You are currently browsing 41–50 of 5,560 new and published books in the subject of Psychological Science — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 5

  1. Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

    By Kenneth Sayre

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    This book, published in 1976, presents an entirely original approach to the subject of the mind-body problem, examining it in terms of the conceptual links between the physical sciences and the sciences of human behaviour. It is based on the cybernetic concepts of information and feedback and on...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  2. The Mental as Physical

    By Edgar Wilson

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  3. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  4. Physicalism

    By K. V. Wilkes

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The primary aim of this study is to dissolve the mind-body problem. It shows how the ‘problem’ separates into two distinct sets of issues, concerning ontology on the one hand, and explanation on the other, and argues that explanation – whether or not human behaviour can be explained in physical...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  5. The Embodied Mind

    By G. N. A. Vesey

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Originally published in 1965. For hundreds of years the thinking of philosophers, psychologists, and theologians on the problem of the mind’s relation to the body was dominated by the Cartesian notion that mind and matter are distinct substances. That Descartes also held that there is a union of...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  6. Lexical Processing and Second Language Acquisition

    By Natasha Tokowicz

    Series: Cognitive Science and Second Language Acquisition Series

    Lexical Processing and Second Language Acquisition provides a comprehensive overview of research on second language lexical processing, integrating converging research and perspectives from Cognitive Science and Second Language Acquisition. The book begins by introducing the dominant issues...

    Published October 27th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Mathematical Principles of Human Conceptual Behavior

    The Structural Nature of Conceptual Representation and Processing

    By Ronaldo Vigo

    Series: Scientific Psychology Series

    The ability to learn concepts lies at the very core of human cognition, enabling us to efficiently classify, organize, identify, and store complex information. In view of the basic role that concepts play in our everyday physical and mental lives, the fields of cognitive science and psychology face...

    Published October 27th 2014 by Psychology Press

  8. Crime Linkage

    Theory, Research, and Practice

    Edited by Jessica Woodhams, Craig Bennell

    Series: Advances in Police Theory and Practice

    The increasing portrayal of forensic investigative techniques in the popular media—CSI, for example, has resulted in criminals becoming "forensically aware" and more careful about leaving behind physical evidence at a crime scene. This presents law enforcement with a significant problem: how can...

    Published October 26th 2014 by CRC Press

  9. Researching with Feeling

    The Emotional Aspects of Social and Organizational Research

    Edited by Caroline Clarke, Mike Broussine, Linda Watts

    Why should researchers be interested in their feelings and emotions as they carry out research? Emotion is what it is to exist, to be human, and is present in every sphere of our lives. All activities are infused with emotion, even those that are constructed as ‘rational’, because rationality...

    Published October 23rd 2014 by Routledge

  10. Qualitative Research on Well-Being and Self Growth

    Contemporary Indian Perspectives

    Edited by Kumar Ravi Priya, Ajit Kumar Dalal

    This book examines the theoretical, methodological and practical dimensions of Qualitative Research in the study of illness, wellbeing and self-growth in the Indian context. Using wide-ranging narratives, interviews, group discussions, and cultural analyses, it offers a social and psychological...

    Published October 23rd 2014 by Routledge India