Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Philosophy of Mind Books

You are currently browsing 11–20 of 40 new and published books in the subject of Philosophy of Mind — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 2

  1. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  2. Physicalism

    By K. V. Wilkes

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The primary aim of this study is to dissolve the mind-body problem. It shows how the ‘problem’ separates into two distinct sets of issues, concerning ontology on the one hand, and explanation on the other, and argues that explanation – whether or not human behaviour can be explained in physical...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  3. The Embodied Mind

    By G. N. A. Vesey

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Originally published in 1965. For hundreds of years the thinking of philosophers, psychologists, and theologians on the problem of the mind’s relation to the body was dominated by the Cartesian notion that mind and matter are distinct substances. That Descartes also held that there is a union of...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  4. Aping Mankind

    Neuromania, Darwinitis and the Misrepresentation of Humanity

    By Raymond Tallis

    In a devastating critique Raymond Tallis exposes the exaggerated claims made for the ability of neuroscience and evolutionary theory to explain human consciousness, behaviour, culture and society.While readily acknowledging the astounding progress neuroscience has made in helping us understand how...

    Published June 19th 2014 by Routledge

  5. The Routledge Handbook of Embodied Cognition

    Edited by Lawrence Shapiro

    Series: Routledge Handbooks in Philosophy

    Embodied cognition is one of the foremost areas of study and research in philosophy of mind, philosophy of psychology and cognitive science. The Routledge Handbook of Embodied Cognition is an outstanding guide and reference source to the key topics and debates in this exciting subject and essential...

    Published April 30th 2014 by Routledge

  6. Phenomenology and the Transcendental

    Edited by Sara Heinämaa, Mirja Hartimo, Timo Miettinen

    Series: Routledge Research in Phenomenology

    The aim of this volume is to offer an updated account of the transcendental character of phenomenology. The main question concerns the sense and relevance of transcendental philosophy today: What can such philosophy contribute to contemporary inquiries and debates after the many reasoned attacks...

    Published April 6th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Daniel Dennett

    Edited by John Symons

    Series: Critical Assessments of Leading Philosophers

    SPECIAL INTRODUCTORY PRICE! (Valid until 3 months after publication) Daniel Dennett has been one of the central voices in the philosophy of mind for at least the past forty years. Unlike most philosophers of his generation, Dennett’s work has resonated far and wide. It has powerfully influenced the...

    Published March 16th 2014 by Routledge

  8. The New Behaviorism

    Second Edition

    By John Staddon

    This groundbreaking book presents a brief history of behaviorism, the dominant movement in American psychology in the first half of the 20th Century. It then analyzes and criticizes radical behaviorism, as pioneered by B.F. Skinner, and its philosophy and applications to social issues. This second...

    Published March 5th 2014 by Psychology Press

  9. The Psychic Home

    Psychoanalysis, consciousness and the human soul

    By Roger Kennedy

    The Psychic Home: Psychoanalysis of Consciousness and the Human Soul develops, from a number of different viewpoints, the significance of home in our lives. Roger Kennedy puts forward the central role of what he has termed a ‘psychic home’ as a vital psychic structure, which gathers together a...

    Published February 4th 2014 by Routledge

  10. Donald Davidson: Life and Words

    Edited by Maria Baghramian

    Donald Davidson (1917-2003) was one of the most prominent philosophers of the second half of the twentieth century. His thinking about language, mind, and epistemology has shaped the views of several generations of philosophers. This book brings together articles by a host of prominent philosophers...

    Published November 10th 2013 by Routledge

Forthcoming Books

  1. The Concept of Motivation
    By R. S. Peters
    To Be Published February 19th 2015
  2. Content and Consciousness
    By Daniel C. Dennett
    To Be Published March 12th 2015
  3. Routledge Library Editions: Epistemology
    By Various
    To Be Published May 4th 2015
  4. The Sensory Basis and Structure of Knowledge
    By Henry J. Watt
    To Be Published May 4th 2015
  5. The Analysis of Knowledge
    By Ledger Wood
    To Be Published May 4th 2015

Find more forthcoming books