Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Philosophy of Psychology Books

You are currently browsing 11–20 of 95 new and published books in the subject of Philosophy of Psychology — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 2

  1. The Mind and the Soul

    An Introduction to the Philosophy of Mind

    By Jenny Teichman

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The concepts of mind and soul have occupied the thoughts of philosophers throughout the ages and have given rise to numerous conflicting theories. This book provides an incisive and stimulating introduction to central tropics in the philosophy of mind. The author writes about the differences and...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  2. Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

    By Kenneth Sayre

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    This book, published in 1976, presents an entirely original approach to the subject of the mind-body problem, examining it in terms of the conceptual links between the physical sciences and the sciences of human behaviour. It is based on the cybernetic concepts of information and feedback and on...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  3. The Mental as Physical

    By Edgar Wilson

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  4. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  5. Physicalism

    By K. V. Wilkes

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The primary aim of this study is to dissolve the mind-body problem. It shows how the ‘problem’ separates into two distinct sets of issues, concerning ontology on the one hand, and explanation on the other, and argues that explanation – whether or not human behaviour can be explained in physical...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  6. The Embodied Mind

    By G. N. A. Vesey

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Originally published in 1965. For hundreds of years the thinking of philosophers, psychologists, and theologians on the problem of the mind’s relation to the body was dominated by the Cartesian notion that mind and matter are distinct substances. That Descartes also held that there is a union of...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  7. Mathematical Principles of Human Conceptual Behavior

    The Structural Nature of Conceptual Representation and Processing

    By Ronaldo Vigo

    Series: Scientific Psychology Series

    The ability to learn concepts lies at the very core of human cognition, enabling us to efficiently classify, organize, identify, and store complex information. In view of the basic role that concepts play in our everyday physical and mental lives, the fields of cognitive science and psychology face...

    Published October 27th 2014 by Psychology Press

  8. The Biological Mind

    A Philosophical Introduction

    By Justin Garson

    For some, biology explains all there is to know about the mind. Yet many big questions remain: is the mind shaped by genes or the environment? If mental traits are the result of adaptations built up over thousands of years, as evolutionary psychologists claim, how can such claims be tested? If the...

    Published October 26th 2014 by Routledge

  9. Psychologists on Psychology (Classic Edition)

    By David Cohen

    Series: Psychology Press & Routledge Classic Editions

    This is a Classic Edition of David Cohen’s unique collection of interviews with eminent psychologists, first published in 1977. The book presents conversations with thirteen of the world’s great psychologists, who dominated the subject from 1950 to 1980, and who shaped psychology as we know it...

    Published October 19th 2014 by Routledge

  10. Psychology from An Empirical Standpoint

    By Franz Brentano

    Series: Routledge Classics

    Franz Brentano is one of the founding fathers of twentieth century philosophy, celebrated for introducing the concept of intentionality to philosophy as well as making significant contributions to ethics and logic. His work exerted great influence on major philosophers such as Edmund Husserl, but...

    Published September 8th 2014 by Routledge