Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Forthcoming Ethics Philosophy Books

You are currently browsing 1–10 of 103 forthcoming new books in the subject of Ethics Philosophy — sorted by publish date from upcoming books to future books.

For books that are already published; please browse available books.

Forthcoming Books

  1. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    To Be Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  2. The Self, the Soul and the Psychology of Good and Evil

    By Ilham Dilman

    Series: Routledge Studies in Ethics and Moral Theory

    The way an individual's psychology is intertwined with their morality is the subject of this fascinating book from the pen of the late Ilham Dilman.Dilman convincingly argues that evil, though it cannot be reduced to psychological terms (it is a moral concept) is explicable in terms of an...

    To Be Published October 31st 2014 by Routledge

  3. Learning to be Human

    The Educational Legacy of John Macmurray

    Edited by Michael Fielding

    The educational writings of John Macmurray, one of the finest 20th century philosophers of his generation, have a special relevance for us today. In similar circumstances of international crisis he argued for the central importance of education addressing fundamental issues of human purpose - how...

    To Be Published November 4th 2014 by Routledge

  4. The Animal Mind

    An Introduction to the Philosophy of Animal Cognition

    By Kristin Andrews

    The study of animal cognition raises profound questions about the minds of animals and philosophy of mind itself. Aristotle argued that humans are the only animal to laugh, but in recent experiments rats have also been shown to laugh. In other experiments, dogs have been shown to respond...

    To Be Published November 11th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Forest Tenure Reform in Asia and Africa

    Local Control for Improved Livelihoods, Forest Management, and Carbon Sequestration

    Edited by Randall Bluffstone, Elizabeth J.Z. Robinson

    Series: Environment for Development

    Forest tenure reforms are occurring in many developing countries around the world. These reforms typically include devolution of forest lands to local people and communities, which has attracted a great deal of attention and interest. While the nature and level of devolution vary by country, all...

    To Be Published November 18th 2014 by RFF Press

  6. Believing Against the Evidence

    Agency and the Ethics of Belief

    By Miriam Schleifer McCormick

    Series: Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

    The question of whether it is ever permissible to believe on insufficient evidence has once again become a live question. Greater attention is now being paid to practical dimensions of belief, namely issues related to epistemic virtue, doxastic responsibility, and voluntarism. In this book,...

    To Be Published November 24th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Children

    Rights and Childhood, 3rd Edition

    By David Archard

    Children: Rights and Childhood is widely regarded as the ?rst book to offer a detailed philosophical examination of children’s rights. David Archard provides a clear and accessible introduction to a topic that has assumed increasing relevance since the book’s ?rst publication. Divided clearly into...

    To Be Published November 25th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Sustainable Consumption and the Good Life

    Interdisciplinary perspectives

    Edited by Karen Lykke Syse, Martin Lee Mueller

    Series: Routledge Environmental Humanities

    What does it mean to live a good life in a time when the planet is overheating, the human population continues to steadily reach new peaks, oceans are turning more acidic, and fertile soils the world over are eroding at unprecedented rates? These and other simultaneous harms and threats demand...

    To Be Published December 1st 2014 by Routledge

  9. Dewey

    By Steven Fesmire

    Series: The Routledge Philosophers

    John Dewey (1859 - 1952) was the dominant voice in American philosophy through the World Wars, the Great Depression, and the nascent years of the Cold War. With a professional career spanning three generations and a profile that no public intellectual has operated on in the U.S. since, Dewey's...

    To Be Published December 9th 2014 by Routledge

  10. The Ethics of Abortion

    Women’s Rights, Human Life, and the Question of Justice, 2nd Edition

    By Christopher Kaczor

    Series: Routledge Annals of Bioethics

    Appealing to reason rather than religious belief, this book is the most comprehensive case against the choice of abortion yet published. This updated edition of The Ethics of Abortion critically evaluates all the major grounds for denying fetal personhood, including the views of those who defend...

    To Be Published December 9th 2014 by Routledge