Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Forthcoming Ethics Philosophy Books

You are currently browsing 1–10 of 85 forthcoming new books in the subject of Ethics Philosophy — sorted by publish date from upcoming books to future books.

For books that are already published; please browse available books.

Forthcoming Books

  1. Death: A Philosophical Inquiry

    By Paul Fairfield

    From Nietzsche's pronouncement that "God is dead" to Camus' argument that suicide is the fundamental question of philosophy, the concept of death plays an important role in existential phenomenology, reaching from Kierkegaard to Heidegger and Marcel. This book explores the phenomenology of death...

    To Be Published September 16th 2014 by Routledge

  2. Philosophy, Ethics, and Public Policy: An Introduction

    By Andrew I Cohen

    What makes a policy work? What should policies attempt to do, and what ought they not do? These questions are at the heart of both policy-making and ethics. Philosophy, Ethics and Public Policy: An Introduction examines these questions and more. Andrew I. Cohen uses contemporary examples and...

    To Be Published September 18th 2014 by Routledge

  3. Environmental Ethics for the Long Term

    An Introduction

    By John Nolt

    Broad in scope, this introduction to environmental ethics considers both contemporary issues and the extent of humanity’s responsibility for distant future life. John Nolt, a logician and environmental ethicist, interweaves contemporary science, logical analysis, and ethical theory into the story...

    To Be Published October 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  4. Uncertainty and the Philosophy of Climate Change

    By Martin Bunzl

    When it comes to climate change, the greatest difficulty we face is that we do not know the likely degree of change or its cost, which means that environmental policy decisions have to be made under uncertainty. This book offers an accessible philosophical treatment of the broad range of ethical...

    To Be Published October 12th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Olympic Ethics and Philosophy

    Edited by Mike McNamee, Jim Parry

    This book contains an international collection of essays by leading philosophers of sport on the ethics and philosophy of the Olympic Games. The essays consider a range of topics including critical reflections on nationalism and internationalism within the Olympic movement, sexism in...

    To Be Published October 14th 2014 by Routledge

  6. The Routledge Handbook of Global Ethics

    Edited by Darrel Moellendorf, Heather Widdows

    Series: Routledge Handbooks in Applied Ethics

    Global ethics focuses on the most pressing contemporary ethical issues - poverty, global trade, terrorism, torture, pollution, climate change and the management of scarce recourses. It draws on moral and political philosophy, political and social science, empirical research, and real world...

    To Be Published October 26th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Nietzsche on Morality

    2nd Edition

    By Brian Leiter

    Both an introduction to Nietzsche’s moral philosophy, and a sustained commentary on his most famous work, On the Genealogy of Morality, this book has become the most widely used and debated secondary source on these topics over the past dozen years. Many of Nietzsche’s most famous ideas - the "...

    To Be Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    To Be Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  9. The Self, the Soul and the Psychology of Good and Evil

    By Ilham Dilman

    Series: Routledge Studies in Ethics and Moral Theory

    The way an individual's psychology is intertwined with their morality is the subject of this fascinating book from the pen of the late Ilham Dilman.Dilman convincingly argues that evil, though it cannot be reduced to psychological terms (it is a moral concept) is explicable in terms of an...

    To Be Published October 31st 2014 by Routledge

  10. Gaston Bachelard

    Critic of Science and the Imagination

    By Cristina Chimisso

    Series: Routledge Studies in Twentieth Century Philosophy

    In this new study, Cristina Chimisso explores the work of the French Philosopher of Science, Gaston Bachelard (1884-1962) by situating it within French cultural life of the first half of the century. The book is introduced by a study - based on an analysis of portraits and literary representations...

    To Be Published October 31st 2014 by Routledge