Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Ethics Philosophy Books

You are currently browsing 11–20 of 535 new and published books in the subject of Ethics Philosophy — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 2

  1. Dewey

    By Steven Fesmire

    Series: The Routledge Philosophers

    John Dewey (1859 - 1952) was the dominant voice in American philosophy through the World Wars, the Great Depression, and the nascent years of the Cold War. With a professional career spanning three generations and a profile that no public intellectual has operated on in the U.S. since, Dewey's...

    Published November 20th 2014 by Routledge

  2. Children

    Rights and Childhood, 3rd Edition

    By David Archard

    Children: Rights and Childhood is widely regarded as the first book to offer a detailed philosophical examination of children’s rights. David Archard provides a clear and accessible introduction to a topic that has assumed increasing relevance since the book’s ?rst publication. Divided clearly into...

    Published November 20th 2014 by Routledge

  3. Believing Against the Evidence

    Agency and the Ethics of Belief

    By Miriam Schleifer McCormick

    Series: Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

    The question of whether it is ever permissible to believe on insufficient evidence has once again become a live question. Greater attention is now being paid to practical dimensions of belief, namely issues related to epistemic virtue, doxastic responsibility, and voluntarism. In this book,...

    Published November 17th 2014 by Routledge

  4. Morality and Moral Reasoning (Routledge Revivals)

    Five Essays in Ethics

    Edited by John Casey

    Series: Routledge Revivals

    First published in 1971, the five essays in this book were written by young philosophers at Cambridge at that time. They focus on two major questions of ethical theory: ‘What is it to judge morally?’ and ‘What makes a reason a moral reason?’. The book explores the relation of moral judgements to...

    Published November 13th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Learning to be Human

    The Educational Legacy of John Macmurray

    Edited by Michael Fielding

    The educational writings of John Macmurray, one of the finest 20th century philosophers of his generation, have a special relevance for us today. In similar circumstances of international crisis he argued for the central importance of education addressing fundamental issues of human purpose - how...

    Published November 12th 2014 by Routledge

  6. The Animal Mind

    An Introduction to the Philosophy of Animal Cognition

    By Kristin Andrews

    The study of animal cognition raises profound questions about the minds of animals and philosophy of mind itself. Aristotle argued that humans are the only animal to laugh, but in recent experiments rats have also been shown to laugh. In other experiments, dogs have been shown to respond...

    Published November 6th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Forest Tenure Reform in Asia and Africa

    Local Control for Improved Livelihoods, Forest Management, and Carbon Sequestration

    Edited by Randall Bluffstone, Elizabeth J.Z. Robinson

    Series: Environment for Development

    Forest tenure reforms are occurring in many developing countries around the world. These reforms typically include devolution of forest lands to local people and communities, which has attracted a great deal of attention and interest. While the nature and level of devolution vary by country, all...

    Published November 6th 2014 by RFF Press

  8. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  9. The Routledge Handbook of Global Ethics

    Edited by Darrel Moellendorf, Heather Widdows

    Series: Routledge Handbooks in Applied Ethics

    Global ethics focuses on the most pressing contemporary ethical issues - poverty, global trade, terrorism, torture, pollution, climate change and the management of scarce recourses. It draws on moral and political philosophy, political and social science, empirical research, and real-world policy...

    Published October 23rd 2014 by Routledge

  10. Olympic Ethics and Philosophy

    Edited by Mike McNamee, Jim Parry

    This book contains an international collection of essays by leading philosophers of sport on the ethics and philosophy of the Olympic Games. The essays consider a range of topics including critical reflections on nationalism and internationalism within the Olympic movement, sexism in...

    Published October 15th 2014 by Routledge