Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Ethics Philosophy Books

You are currently browsing 11–20 of 535 new and published books in the subject of Ethics Philosophy — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 2

  1. Believing Against the Evidence

    Agency and the Ethics of Belief

    By Miriam Schleifer McCormick

    Series: Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

    The question of whether it is ever permissible to believe on insufficient evidence has once again become a live question. Greater attention is now being paid to practical dimensions of belief, namely issues related to epistemic virtue, doxastic responsibility, and voluntarism. In this book,...

    Published November 16th 2014 by Routledge

  2. Morality and Moral Reasoning (Routledge Revivals)

    Five Essays in Ethics

    Edited by John Casey

    Series: Routledge Revivals

    First published in 1971, the five essays in this book were written by young philosophers at Cambridge at that time. They focus on two major questions of ethical theory: ‘What is it to judge morally?’ and ‘What makes a reason a moral reason?’. The book explores the relation of moral judgements to...

    Published November 12th 2014 by Routledge

  3. Learning to be Human

    The Educational Legacy of John Macmurray

    Edited by Michael Fielding

    The educational writings of John Macmurray, one of the finest 20th century philosophers of his generation, have a special relevance for us today. In similar circumstances of international crisis he argued for the central importance of education addressing fundamental issues of human purpose - how...

    Published November 11th 2014 by Routledge

  4. Forest Tenure Reform in Asia and Africa

    Local Control for Improved Livelihoods, Forest Management, and Carbon Sequestration

    Edited by Randall Bluffstone, Elizabeth J.Z. Robinson

    Series: Environment for Development

    Forest tenure reforms are occurring in many developing countries around the world. These reforms typically include devolution of forest lands to local people and communities, which has attracted a great deal of attention and interest. While the nature and level of devolution vary by country, all...

    Published November 5th 2014 by RFF Press

  5. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  6. The Routledge Handbook of Global Ethics

    Edited by Darrel Moellendorf, Heather Widdows

    Series: Routledge Handbooks in Applied Ethics

    Global ethics focuses on the most pressing contemporary ethical issues - poverty, global trade, terrorism, torture, pollution, climate change and the management of scarce recourses. It draws on moral and political philosophy, political and social science, empirical research, and real-world policy...

    Published October 22nd 2014 by Routledge

  7. Food Ethics: The Basics

    By Ronald Sandler

    Series: The Basics

    Food Ethics: The Basics is a concise yet comprehensive introduction to the ethical dimensions of the production and consumption of food. It offers an impartial exploration of the most prominent ethical questions relating to food and agriculture including: • Should we eat animals? • Are locally...

    Published October 14th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Olympic Ethics and Philosophy

    Edited by Mike McNamee, Jim Parry

    This book contains an international collection of essays by leading philosophers of sport on the ethics and philosophy of the Olympic Games. The essays consider a range of topics including critical reflections on nationalism and internationalism within the Olympic movement, sexism in...

    Published October 14th 2014 by Routledge

  9. Environmental Ethics for the Long Term

    An Introduction

    By John Nolt

    Broad in scope, this introduction to environmental ethics considers both contemporary issues and the extent of humanity’s responsibility for distant future life. John Nolt, a logician and environmental ethicist, interweaves contemporary science, logical analysis, and ethical theory into the story...

    Published October 13th 2014 by Routledge

  10. Nietzsche on Morality

    2nd Edition

    By Brian Leiter

    Both an introduction to Nietzsche’s moral philosophy, and a sustained commentary on his most famous work, On the Genealogy of Morality, this book has become the most widely used and debated secondary source on these topics over the past dozen years. Many of Nietzsche’s most famous ideas - the "...

    Published October 8th 2014 by Routledge