Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Ethics Philosophy Books

You are currently browsing 41–50 of 551 new and published books in the subject of Ethics Philosophy — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 5

  1. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  2. The Routledge Handbook of Global Ethics

    Edited by Darrel Moellendorf, Heather Widdows

    Series: Routledge Handbooks in Applied Ethics

    Global ethics focuses on the most pressing contemporary ethical issues - poverty, global trade, terrorism, torture, pollution, climate change and the management of scarce recourses. It draws on moral and political philosophy, political and social science, empirical research, and real-world policy...

    Published October 23rd 2014 by Routledge

  3. Environmental Ethics for the Long Term

    An Introduction

    By John Nolt

    Broad in scope, this introduction to environmental ethics considers both contemporary issues and the extent of humanity’s responsibility for distant future life. John Nolt, a logician and environmental ethicist, interweaves contemporary science, logical analysis, and ethical theory into the story...

    Published October 14th 2014 by Routledge

  4. Food Ethics: The Basics

    By Ronald Sandler

    Series: The Basics

    Food Ethics: The Basics is a concise yet comprehensive introduction to the ethical dimensions of the production and consumption of food. It offers an impartial exploration of the most prominent ethical questions relating to food and agriculture including: • Should we eat animals? • Are locally...

    Published October 13th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Nietzsche on Morality

    2nd Edition

    By Brian Leiter

    Both an introduction to Nietzsche’s moral philosophy, and a sustained commentary on his most famous work, On the Genealogy of Morality, this book has become the most widely used and debated secondary source on these topics over the past dozen years. Many of Nietzsche’s most famous ideas - the "...

    Published October 9th 2014 by Routledge

  6. Uncertainty and the Philosophy of Climate Change

    By Martin Bunzl

    When it comes to climate change, the greatest difficulty we face is that we do not know the likely degree of change or its cost, which means that environmental policy decisions have to be made under uncertainty. This book offers an accessible philosophical treatment of the broad range of ethical...

    Published October 9th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Death: A Philosophical Inquiry

    By Paul Fairfield

    From Nietzsche's pronouncement that "God is dead" to Camus' argument that suicide is the fundamental question of philosophy, the concept of death plays an important role in existential phenomenology, reaching from Kierkegaard to Heidegger and Marcel. This book explores the phenomenology of death...

    Published September 15th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Gaston Bachelard

    Critic of Science and the Imagination

    By Cristina Chimisso

    Series: Routledge Studies in Twentieth-Century Philosophy

    In this new study, Cristina Chimisso explores the work of the French Philosopher of Science, Gaston Bachelard (1884-1962) by situating it within French cultural life of the first half of the century. The book is introduced by a study - based on an analysis of portraits and literary representations...

    Published September 12th 2014 by Routledge

  9. Annals of Bioethics: Regional Perspectives in Bioethics

    By Mark J. Cherry, John F. Peppin

    Series: Routledge Annals of Bioethics

    Regional Perspectives in Bioethics" illustrates the ways in which the national and international political landscape encompasses persons from diverse and often fragmented moral communities with widely varying moral intuitions, premises, evaluations and commitments....

    Published September 12th 2014 by Taylor & Francis

  10. Medical Confidentiality and Legal Privilege

    By Jean V. McHale

    Series: Social Ethics and Policy

    First Published in 2004. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company....

    Published September 12th 2014 by Routledge