Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Moral Theory Books

You are currently browsing 1–10 of 101 new and published books in the subject of Moral Theory — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books

  1. Environmental Skill

    Motivation, Knowledge, and the Possibility of a Non-Romantic Environmental Ethics

    By Mark Coeckelbergh

    Series: Routledge Studies in Ethics and Moral Theory

    Today it is widely recognized that we face urgent and serious environmental problems and we know much about them, yet we do very little. What explains this lack of motivation and change? Why is it so hard to change our lives? This book addresses this question by means of a philosophical inquiry...

    Published March 3rd 2015 by Routledge

  2. The Routledge Companion to Virtue Ethics

    Edited by Lorraine Besser-Jones, Michael Slote

    Series: Routledge Philosophy Companions

    Virtue ethics is on the move both in Anglo-American philosophy and in the rest of the world. This volume uniquely emphasizes non-Western varieties of virtue ethics at the same time that it includes work in the many different fields or areas of philosophy where virtue ethics has recently spread its...

    Published February 23rd 2015 by Routledge

  3. An Enquiry into Moral Notions (Routledge Revivals)

    By John Laird

    Series: Routledge Revivals

    First published in 1935, this book compares and examines what John Laird termed the ‘three most important notions in ethical science’: the concepts of virtue, duty and well-being. Laird poses the question of whether any one of these three concepts is capable of being the foundation of ethics and of...

    Published February 8th 2015 by Routledge

  4. A Study in Moral Theory (Routledge Revivals)

    By John Laird

    Series: Routledge Revivals

    First published in 1926, this study addresses the theory of morality using four overarching approaches: analytical, psychological, theoretical, and finally, philosophical. Within these methodologies, chapters explore such areas as the character of moral enquiry, the knowledge of good and evil,...

    Published February 8th 2015 by Routledge

  5. Psychology and Ethical Development (Routledge Revivals)

    A Collection of Articles on Psychological Theories, Ethical Development and Human Understanding

    By R. S. Peters

    Series: Routledge Revivals: R. S. Peters on Education and Ethics

    First published in 1974, this book presents a coherent collection of major articles by Richard Stanley Peters. It displays his work on psychology and philosophy, with special attention given to the areas of ethical development and human understanding. The book is split into four parts. The first...

    Published February 8th 2015 by Routledge

  6. Christian Ethics and Commonsense Morality

    An Intuitionist Account

    By Kevin Jung

    Series: Routledge Studies in the Philosophy of Religion

    Christian Ethics and Commonsense Morality goes against the grain of various postmodern approaches to morality in contemporary religious ethics. In this book, Jung seeks to provide a new framework in which the nature of common Christian moral beliefs and practices can be given a new meaning. He...

    Published December 17th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Personal Autonomy and Social Oppression

    Philosophical Perspectives

    Edited by Marina A.L. Oshana

    Series: Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

    Personal Autonomy and Social Oppression addresses the impact of social conditions, especially subordinating conditions, on personal autonomy. The essays in this volume are concerned with the philosophical concept of autonomy or self-governance and with the impact on relational autonomy of the...

    Published December 5th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Morality and Moral Reasoning (Routledge Revivals)

    Five Essays in Ethics

    Edited by John Casey

    Series: Routledge Revivals

    First published in 1971, the five essays in this book were written by young philosophers at Cambridge at that time. They focus on two major questions of ethical theory: ‘What is it to judge morally?’ and ‘What makes a reason a moral reason?’. The book explores the relation of moral judgements to...

    Published November 12th 2014 by Routledge

  9. Learning to be Human

    The Educational Legacy of John Macmurray

    Edited by Michael Fielding

    The educational writings of John Macmurray, one of the finest 20th century philosophers of his generation, have a special relevance for us today. In similar circumstances of international crisis he argued for the central importance of education addressing fundamental issues of human purpose - how...

    Published November 11th 2014 by Routledge

  10. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge