Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Moral Theory Books

You are currently browsing 1–10 of 100 new and published books in the subject of Moral Theory — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books

  1. Christian Ethics and Commonsense Morality

    An Intuitionist Account

    By Kevin Jung

    Series: Routledge Studies in the Philosophy of Religion

    Christian Ethics and Commonsense Morality goes against the grain of various postmodern approaches to morality in contemporary religious ethics. In this book, Jung seeks to provide a new framework in which the nature of common Christian moral beliefs and practices can be given a new meaning. He...

    Published December 17th 2014 by Routledge

  2. Personal Autonomy and Social Oppression

    Philosophical Perspectives

    Edited by Marina A.L. Oshana

    Series: Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

    Personal Autonomy and Social Oppression addresses the impact of social conditions, especially subordinating conditions, on personal autonomy. The essays in this volume are concerned with the philosophical concept of autonomy or self-governance and with the impact on relational autonomy of the...

    Published December 16th 2014 by Routledge

  3. Morality and Moral Reasoning (Routledge Revivals)

    Five Essays in Ethics

    Edited by John Casey

    Series: Routledge Revivals

    First published in 1971, the five essays in this book were written by young philosophers at Cambridge at that time. They focus on two major questions of ethical theory: ‘What is it to judge morally?’ and ‘What makes a reason a moral reason?’. The book explores the relation of moral judgements to...

    Published November 13th 2014 by Routledge

  4. Learning to be Human

    The Educational Legacy of John Macmurray

    Edited by Michael Fielding

    The educational writings of John Macmurray, one of the finest 20th century philosophers of his generation, have a special relevance for us today. In similar circumstances of international crisis he argued for the central importance of education addressing fundamental issues of human purpose - how...

    Published November 12th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  6. The Routledge Handbook of Global Ethics

    Edited by Darrel Moellendorf, Heather Widdows

    Series: Routledge Handbooks in Applied Ethics

    Global ethics focuses on the most pressing contemporary ethical issues - poverty, global trade, terrorism, torture, pollution, climate change and the management of scarce recourses. It draws on moral and political philosophy, political and social science, empirical research, and real-world policy...

    Published October 23rd 2014 by Routledge

  7. Ethics without Morals

    In Defence of Amorality

    By Joel Marks

    Series: Routledge Studies in Ethics and Moral Theory

    In this volume, Marks offers a defense of amorality as both philosophically justified and practicably livable. In so doing, the book marks a radical departure from both the new atheism and the mainstream of modern ethical philosophy. While in synch with their underlying aim of grounding human...

    Published September 11th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Philosophy, Ethics, and Public Policy: An Introduction

    By Andrew I Cohen

    What makes a policy work? What should policies attempt to do, and what ought they not do? These questions are at the heart of both policy-making and ethics. Philosophy, Ethics and Public Policy: An Introduction examines these questions and more. Andrew I. Cohen uses contemporary examples and...

    Published September 9th 2014 by Routledge

  9. Evolution (Routledge Revivals)

    By F. B. Jevons

    Series: Routledge Revivals

    First published in 1900, this philosophical essay on Evolution questions how the acceptance of Evolution as scientific should influence the thoughts and actions of humankind from the perspective of morality and moral conduct. In his discussion, Frank B. Jevons deals with such subjects as pessimism...

    Published July 17th 2014 by Routledge

  10. Kant and Education

    Interpretations and Commentary

    Edited by Klas Roth, Chris W. Surprenant

    Series: Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

    Immanuel Kant’s moral philosophy, political philosophy, and philosophy of judgement have been and continue to be widely discussed among many scholars. The impact of his thinking is beyond doubt and his ideas continue to inspire and encourage an on-going dialogue among many people in our world today...

    Published July 3rd 2014 by Routledge