Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Philosophy of Mind Books

You are currently browsing 11–20 of 141 new and published books in the subject of Philosophy of Mind — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 2

  1. The Mental as Physical

    By Edgar Wilson

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  2. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  3. Physicalism

    By K. V. Wilkes

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The primary aim of this study is to dissolve the mind-body problem. It shows how the ‘problem’ separates into two distinct sets of issues, concerning ontology on the one hand, and explanation on the other, and argues that explanation – whether or not human behaviour can be explained in physical...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  4. The Embodied Mind

    By G. N. A. Vesey

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Originally published in 1965. For hundreds of years the thinking of philosophers, psychologists, and theologians on the problem of the mind’s relation to the body was dominated by the Cartesian notion that mind and matter are distinct substances. That Descartes also held that there is a union of...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  5. The Biological Mind

    A Philosophical Introduction

    By Justin Garson

    For some, biology explains all there is to know about the mind. Yet many big questions remain: is the mind shaped by genes or the environment? If mental traits are the result of adaptations built up over thousands of years, as evolutionary psychologists claim, how can such claims be tested? If the...

    Published October 30th 2014 by Routledge

  6. Mind, Language and Subjectivity

    Minimal Content and the Theory of Thought

    By Nicholas Georgalis

    Series: Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

    In this monograph Nicholas Georgalis further develops his important work on minimal content, recasting and providing novel solutions to several of the fundamental problems faced by philosophers of language. His theory defends and explicates the importance of ‘thought-tokens’ and minimal content and...

    Published October 22nd 2014 by Routledge

  7. Philosophy and the Sciences for Everyone

    Edited by Michela Massimi

    What is the origin of our universe? What are dark matter and dark energy? What is our role in the universe as human beings capable of knowledge? What makes us intelligent cognitive agents seemingly endowed with consciousness? Scientific research across both the physical and cognitive sciences...

    Published September 29th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Social Psychology and the Unconscious

    The Automaticity of Higher Mental Processes

    Edited by John A. Bargh

    Series: Frontiers of Social Psychology

    Evidence is mounting that we are not as in control of our judgments and behavior as we think we are. Unconscious or ‘automatic’ forms of psychological and behavioral processes are those of which we tend to be unaware, that occur without our intention or consent, yet influence us on a daily basis in...

    Published September 10th 2014 by Psychology Press

  9. Psychology from An Empirical Standpoint

    By Franz Brentano

    Series: Routledge Classics

    Franz Brentano is one of the founding fathers of twentieth century philosophy, celebrated for introducing the concept of intentionality to philosophy as well as making significant contributions to ethics and logic. His work exerted great influence on major philosophers such as Edmund Husserl, but...

    Published September 8th 2014 by Routledge

  10. Emotion and Reason

    Mind, Brain, and the Social Domains of Work and Love

    By Warren D. TenHouten

    Although much academic work has been done on the areas of mind, brain, and society, a theoretical synthesis of the three levels of analysis – the biological, the mental, and the social – has not until now been put forward. In Emotion and Reason, Warren TenHouten presents a truly comprehensive...

    Published August 30th 2014 by Routledge

Forthcoming Books

  1. Freud, 2nd Edition
    By Jonathan Lear
    To Be Published January 6th 2015
  2. Essays on Freedom of Action (Routledge Revivals)
    By Ted Honderich
    To Be Published January 30th 2015
  3. Imagination and the Imaginary
    By Kathleen Lennon
    To Be Published February 25th 2015
  4. Wittgenstein and Perception
    Edited by Michael Campbell, Michael O'Sullivan
    To Be Published February 25th 2015
  5. Methods of Exploring Emotions
    Edited by Helena Flam, Jochen Kleres
    To Be Published March 30th 2015

Find more forthcoming books