Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Philosophy of Religion Books

You are currently browsing 1–10 of 230 new and published books in the subject of Philosophy of Religion — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books

  1. The Origins of Theosophy (Routledge Revivals)

    Annie Besant - The Atheist Years

    By Annie Besant

    Annie Besant is primarily remembered as the international president of the Theosophical Society. One of the most important aspects of her career were the years that she was a professional atheist, which has given her a place in history as a pioneer feminist. The Origins of Theosophy contains...

    Published November 18th 2014 by Routledge

  2. Believing Against the Evidence

    Agency and the Ethics of Belief

    By Miriam Schleifer McCormick

    Series: Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

    The question of whether it is ever permissible to believe on insufficient evidence has once again become a live question. Greater attention is now being paid to practical dimensions of belief, namely issues related to epistemic virtue, doxastic responsibility, and voluntarism. In this book,...

    Published November 17th 2014 by Routledge

  3. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  4. God and the Multiverse

    Scientific, Philosophical, and Theological Perspectives

    Edited by Klaas Kraay

    Series: Routledge Studies in the Philosophy of Religion

    In recent decades, scientific theories have postulated the existence of many universes beyond our own. The details and implications of these theories are hotly contested. Some philosophers argue that these scientific models count against the existence of God. Others, however, argue that if God...

    Published October 29th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Heidegger, Authenticity and the Self

    Themes From Division Two of Being and Time

    Edited by Denis McManus

    Though Heidegger’s Being and Time is often cited as one of the most important philosophical works of the last hundred years, its Division Two has received relatively little attention. This outstanding collection corrects that, examining some of the central themes of Division Two and their...

    Published September 18th 2014 by Routledge

  6. William James and The Varieties of Religious Experience

    A Centenary Celebration

    Edited by Jeremy Carrette

    William James's The Varieties of Religious Experience was an intellectual landmark, paving the way for current study of psychology, philosophy and religious studies. In this new companion to the Varieties, key international experts provide contemporary responses to James's book, exploring its...

    Published September 12th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Voltaire's Jews and Modern Jewish Identity

    Rethinking the Enlightenment

    By Harvey Mitchell

    Series: Routledge Jewish Studies Series

    Harvey Mitchell’s book argues that a reassessment of Voltaire’s treatment of traditional Judaism will sharpen discussion of the origins of, and responses to, the Enlightenment. His study shows how Voltaire’s nearly total antipathy to Judaism is best understood by stressing his self-regard as...

    Published August 15th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Foucault, Christianity and Interfaith Dialogue

    By Henrique Pinto

    Series: Routledge Studies in Religion

    Foucault, Christianity and Interfaith Dialogue develops a new model for interfaith dialogue using the work of the French historian of ideas, Michel Foucault. The author argues that it is the injustice done to the 'Other' by Roman Catholic, Protestant and other centred and unitary models of...

    Published August 15th 2014 by Routledge

  9. The Puzzle of Existence

    Why Is There Something Rather Than Nothing?

    Edited by Tyron Goldschmidt

    Series: Routledge Studies in Metaphysics

    This groundbreaking volume investigates the most fundamental question of all: Why is there something rather than nothing? The question is explored from diverse and radical perspectives: religious, naturalistic, platonistic and skeptical. Does science answer the question? Or does theology? Does...

    Published August 12th 2014 by Routledge

  10. Adam Smith as Theologian

    Edited by Paul Oslington

    Series: Routledge Studies in Religion

    Adam Smith wrote in a Scotland where Calvinism, Continental natural law theory, Stoic philosophy, and the Newtonian tradition of scientific natural theology were key to the intellectual lives of his contemporaries. But what impact did these ideas have on Smith’s system? What was Smith’s...

    Published July 3rd 2014 by Routledge