Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Forthcoming Philosophy of Religion Books

You are currently browsing 1–10 of 24 forthcoming new books in the subject of Philosophy of Religion — sorted by publish date from upcoming books to future books.

For books that are already published; please browse available books.

Forthcoming Books

  1. Heidegger, Authenticity, and the Self

    Themes From Division Two of Being and Time

    Edited by Denis McManus

    Though Heidegger’s Being and Time is often cited as one of the most important philosophical works of the last hundred years, its Division Two has received relatively little attention. This outstanding collection corrects that, examining some of the central themes of Division Two and their...

    To Be Published September 28th 2014 by Routledge

  2. God and the Multiverse

    Scientific, Philosophical, and Theological Perspectives

    Edited by Klaas Kraay

    Series: Routledge Studies in the Philosophy of Religion

    In recent decades, scientific theories have postulated the existence of many universes beyond our own. The details and implications of these theories are hotly contested. Some philosophers argue that these scientific models count against the existence of God. Others, however, argue that if God...

    To Be Published October 21st 2014 by Routledge

  3. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    To Be Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  4. The Origins of Theosophy (Routledge Revivals)

    Annie Besant - The Atheist Years

    By Annie Besant

    Annie Besant is primarily remembered as the international president of the Theosophical Society. One of the most important aspects of her career were the years that she was a professional atheist, which has given her a place in history as a pioneer feminist. The Origins of Theosophy contains...

    To Be Published October 29th 2014 by Routledge

  5. William James and The Varieties of Religious Experience

    A Centenary Celebration

    Edited by Jeremy Carrette

    William James's The Varieties of Religious Experience was an intellectual landmark, paving the way for current study of psychology, philosophy and religious studies. In this new companion to the Varieties, key international experts provide contemporary responses to James's book, exploring its...

    To Be Published October 31st 2014 by Routledge

  6. The Self, the Soul and the Psychology of Good and Evil

    By Ilham Dilman

    Series: Routledge Studies in Ethics and Moral Theory

    The way an individual's psychology is intertwined with their morality is the subject of this fascinating book from the pen of the late Ilham Dilman.Dilman convincingly argues that evil, though it cannot be reduced to psychological terms (it is a moral concept) is explicable in terms of an...

    To Be Published October 31st 2014 by Routledge

  7. Believing Against the Evidence

    Agency and the Ethics of Belief

    By Miriam Schleifer McCormick

    Series: Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

    The question of whether it is ever permissible to believe on insufficient evidence has once again become a live question. Greater attention is now being paid to practical dimensions of belief, namely issues related to epistemic virtue, doxastic responsibility, and voluntarism. In this book,...

    To Be Published November 12th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Christian Ethics and Commonsense Morality

    An Intuitionist Account

    By Kevin Jung

    Series: Routledge Studies in the Philosophy of Religion

    Christian Ethics and Commonsense Morality goes against the grain of various postmodern approaches to morality in contemporary religious ethics. In this book, Jung seeks to provide a new framework in which the nature of common Christian moral beliefs and practices can be given a new meaning. He...

    To Be Published December 11th 2014 by Routledge

  9. The Routledge Companion to Medieval Philosophy

    Edited by JT Paasch, Richard Cross

    To Be Published December 14th 2014 by Routledge

  10. On Humanism

    2nd Edition

    By Richard Norman

    Series: Thinking in Action

    What is humanism and why does it matter? Is there any doctrine every humanist must hold? If it rejects religion, what does it offer in its place? Have the twentieth century’s crimes against humanity spelled the end for humanism? On Humanism is a timely and powerfully argued philosophical defence...

    To Be Published December 14th 2014 by Routledge