Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Forthcoming Philosophy of Religion Books

You are currently browsing 1–10 of 26 forthcoming new books in the subject of Philosophy of Religion — sorted by publish date from upcoming books to future books.

For books that are already published; please browse available books.

Forthcoming Books

  1. Voltaire's Jews and Modern Jewish Identity

    Rethinking the Enlightenment

    By Harvey Mitchell

    Series: Routledge Jewish Studies Series

    Harvey Mitchell’s book argues that a reassessment of Voltaire’s treatment of traditional Judaism will sharpen discussion of the origins of, and responses to, the Enlightenment. His study shows how Voltaire’s nearly total antipathy to Judaism is best understood by stressing his self-regard as...

    To Be Published August 14th 2014 by Routledge

  2. Negative Theology and Modern French Philosophy

    By Arthur Bradley

    Series: Routledge Studies in Religion

    This book provides a significant and insightful exploration of the so-called 'theological turn' in contemporary French thought. The philosopher Jacques Derrida speaks of a deeply ambiguous desire to 'save the name' of God in his work on negative theology, and this desire resonates in different ways...

    To Be Published August 14th 2014 by Routledge

  3. Foucault, Christianity and Interfaith Dialogue

    By Henrique Pinto

    Series: Routledge Studies in Religion

    Foucault, Christianity and Interfaith Dialogue develops a new model for interfaith dialogue using the work of the French historian of ideas, Michel Foucault. The author argues that it is the injustice done to the 'Other' by Roman Catholic, Protestant and other centred and unitary models of...

    To Be Published August 14th 2014 by Routledge

  4. The Puzzle of Existence

    Why Is There Something Rather Than Nothing?

    Edited by Tyron Goldschmidt

    Series: Routledge Studies in Metaphysics

    This groundbreaking volume investigates the most fundamental question of all: Why is there something rather than nothing? The question is explored from diverse and radical perspectives: religious, naturalistic, platonistic and skeptical. Does science answer the question? Or does theology? Does...

    To Be Published August 14th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Heidegger, Authenticity, and the Self

    Themes From Division Two of Being and Time

    Edited by Denis McManus

    Though Heidegger’s Being and Time is often cited as one of the most important philosophical works of the last hundred years, its Division Two has received relatively little attention. This outstanding collection corrects that, examining some of the central themes of Division Two and their...

    To Be Published September 18th 2014 by Routledge

  6. God and the Multiverse

    Scientific, Philosophical, and Theological Perspectives

    Edited by Klaas Kraay

    Series: Routledge Studies in the Philosophy of Religion

    In recent decades, scientific theories have postulated the existence of many universes beyond our own. The details and implications of these theories are hotly contested. Some philosophers argue that these scientific models count against the existence of God. Others, however, argue that if God...

    To Be Published October 21st 2014 by Routledge

  7. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    To Be Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  8. The Origins of Theosophy (Routledge Revivals)

    Annie Besant - The Atheist Years

    By Annie Besant

    Annie Besant is primarily remembered as the international president of the Theosophical Society. One of the most important aspects of her career were the years that she was a professional atheist, which has given her a place in history as a pioneer feminist. The Origins of Theosophy contains...

    To Be Published October 29th 2014 by Routledge

  9. William James and The Varieties of Religious Experience

    A Centenary Celebration

    Edited by Jeremy Carrette

    William James's The Varieties of Religious Experience was an intellectual landmark, paving the way for current study of psychology, philosophy and religious studies. In this new companion to the Varieties, key international experts provide contemporary responses to James's book, exploring its...

    To Be Published October 31st 2014 by Routledge