Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Philosophy of Religion Books

You are currently browsing 1–10 of 232 new and published books in the subject of Philosophy of Religion — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 1

  1. Myth and the Human Sciences

    Hans Blumenberg's Theory of Myth

    By Angus Nicholls

    Series: Theorists of Myth

    This is the first book-length critical analysis in any language of Hans Blumenberg’s theory of myth. Blumenberg can be regarded as the most important German theorist of myth of the second half of the twentieth century, and his Work on Myth (1979) has resonated across disciplines ranging from...

    Published January 21st 2015 by Routledge

  2. Negative Theology and Modern French Philosophy

    By Arthur Bradley

    Series: Routledge Studies in Religion

    This book provides a significant and insightful exploration of the so-called 'theological turn' in contemporary French thought. The philosopher Jacques Derrida speaks of a deeply ambiguous desire to 'save the name' of God in his work on negative theology, and this desire resonates in different ways...

    Published December 22nd 2014 by Routledge

  3. Eschatology and the Technological Future

    By Michael S. Burdett

    Series: Routledge Studies in Religion

    The rapid advancement of technology has led to an explosion of speculative theories about what the future of humankind may look like. These "technological futurisms" have arisen from significant advances in the fields of nanotechnology, biotechnology and information technology and are drawing...

    Published December 22nd 2014 by Routledge

  4. Moral Reasoning Vol 2

    First published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company....

    Published December 22nd 2014 by Routledge

  5. Christian Ethics and Commonsense Morality

    An Intuitionist Account

    By Kevin Jung

    Series: Routledge Studies in the Philosophy of Religion

    Christian Ethics and Commonsense Morality goes against the grain of various postmodern approaches to morality in contemporary religious ethics. In this book, Jung seeks to provide a new framework in which the nature of common Christian moral beliefs and practices can be given a new meaning. He...

    Published December 17th 2014 by Routledge

  6. Believing Against the Evidence

    Agency and the Ethics of Belief

    By Miriam Schleifer McCormick

    Series: Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

    The question of whether it is ever permissible to believe on insufficient evidence has once again become a live question. Greater attention is now being paid to practical dimensions of belief, namely issues related to epistemic virtue, doxastic responsibility, and voluntarism. In this book,...

    Published November 16th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  8. God and the Multiverse

    Scientific, Philosophical, and Theological Perspectives

    Edited by Klaas Kraay

    Series: Routledge Studies in the Philosophy of Religion

    In recent decades, scientific theories have postulated the existence of many universes beyond our own. The details and implications of these theories are hotly contested. Some philosophers argue that these scientific models count against the existence of God. Others, however, argue that if God...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  9. Heidegger, Authenticity and the Self

    Themes From Division Two of Being and Time

    Edited by Denis McManus

    Though Heidegger’s Being and Time is often cited as one of the most important philosophical works of the last hundred years, its Division Two has received relatively little attention. This outstanding collection corrects that, examining some of the central themes of Division Two and their...

    Published September 17th 2014 by Routledge

  10. William James and The Varieties of Religious Experience

    A Centenary Celebration

    Edited by Jeremy Carrette

    William James's The Varieties of Religious Experience was an intellectual landmark, paving the way for current study of psychology, philosophy and religious studies. In this new companion to the Varieties, key international experts provide contemporary responses to James's book, exploring its...

    Published September 11th 2014 by Routledge