Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Philosophy of Religion Books

You are currently browsing 11–20 of 242 new and published books in the subject of Philosophy of Religion — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 2

  1. Humanist Essays (Routledge Revivals)

    By Gilbert Murray

    Series: Routledge Revivals

    First published in 1964, this is a short collection of both literary and philosophical essays. Whilst two essays consider Greek literature written at the point at which the Athenian empire was breaking apart, another group explore the background from which Christianity arose, considering Paganism...

    Published February 9th 2015 by Routledge

  2. Myth and the Human Sciences

    Hans Blumenberg's Theory of Myth

    By Angus Nicholls

    Series: Theorists of Myth

    This is the first book-length critical analysis in any language of Hans Blumenberg’s theory of myth. Blumenberg can be regarded as the most important German theorist of myth of the second half of the twentieth century, and his Work on Myth (1979) has resonated across disciplines ranging from...

    Published February 2nd 2015 by Routledge

  3. Negative Theology and Modern French Philosophy

    By Arthur Bradley

    Series: Routledge Studies in Religion

    This book provides a significant and insightful exploration of the so-called 'theological turn' in contemporary French thought. The philosopher Jacques Derrida speaks of a deeply ambiguous desire to 'save the name' of God in his work on negative theology, and this desire resonates in different ways...

    Published December 23rd 2014 by Routledge

  4. Eschatology and the Technological Future

    By Michael S. Burdett

    Series: Routledge Studies in Religion

    The rapid advancement of technology has led to an explosion of speculative theories about what the future of humankind may look like. These "technological futurisms" have arisen from significant advances in the fields of nanotechnology, biotechnology and information technology and are drawing...

    Published December 23rd 2014 by Routledge

  5. Moral Reasoning Vol 2

    First published in 2003. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company....

    Published December 23rd 2014 by Routledge

  6. Christian Ethics and Commonsense Morality

    An Intuitionist Account

    By Kevin Jung

    Series: Routledge Studies in the Philosophy of Religion

    Christian Ethics and Commonsense Morality goes against the grain of various postmodern approaches to morality in contemporary religious ethics. In this book, Jung seeks to provide a new framework in which the nature of common Christian moral beliefs and practices can be given a new meaning. He...

    Published December 18th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Believing Against the Evidence

    Agency and the Ethics of Belief

    By Miriam Schleifer McCormick

    Series: Routledge Studies in Contemporary Philosophy

    The question of whether it is ever permissible to believe on insufficient evidence has once again become a live question. Greater attention is now being paid to practical dimensions of belief, namely issues related to epistemic virtue, doxastic responsibility, and voluntarism. In this book,...

    Published November 17th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  9. God and the Multiverse

    Scientific, Philosophical, and Theological Perspectives

    Edited by Klaas Kraay

    Series: Routledge Studies in the Philosophy of Religion

    In recent decades, scientific theories have postulated the existence of many universes beyond our own. The details and implications of these theories are hotly contested. Some philosophers argue that these scientific models count against the existence of God. Others, however, argue that if God...

    Published October 29th 2014 by Routledge

  10. Heidegger, Authenticity and the Self

    Themes From Division Two of Being and Time

    Edited by Denis McManus

    Though Heidegger’s Being and Time is often cited as one of the most important philosophical works of the last hundred years, its Division Two has received relatively little attention. This outstanding collection corrects that, examining some of the central themes of Division Two and their...

    Published September 18th 2014 by Routledge

Forthcoming Books

  1. The Routledge Handbook of Contemporary Philosophy of Religion
    Edited by Graham Oppy
    To Be Published April 28th 2015
  2. The Self, the Soul and the Psychology of Good and Evil
    By Ilham Dilman
    To Be Published May 29th 2015
  3. Foucault, Christianity and Interfaith Dialogue
    By Henrique Pinto
    To Be Published May 29th 2015
  4. John Henry Newman: Theology &

    To Be Published May 29th 2015
  5. On Humanism, 2nd Edition
    By Richard Norman
    To Be Published June 12th 2015

Find more forthcoming books