Skip to Content

Books by Subject

International Relations Theory Books

You are currently browsing 21–30 of 269 new and published books in the subject of International Relations Theory — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 3

  1. Cosmopolitan Government in Europe

    Citizens and Entrepreneurs in Postnational Politics

    By Owen Parker

    Series: Interventions

    The invocation of ‘the market’ has been omnipresent in media discussions of ‘crisis Europe’. On the one hand, ‘the market’ is presented as that to which EU member states must collectively respond. It is the very purpose of a post-national government and that which dictates individual and collective...

    Published May 30th 2014 by Routledge

  2. Political Leadership, Nascent Statehood and Democracy

    A comparative study

    By Ulrika Möller, Isabell Schierenbeck

    Series: Democratization Studies

    Do political leaders determine whether a polity will receive a democratic future or not? Research and advocates of democracy agree on the significance of political elites for democratization, yet there is a need for a more specific understanding of their role. This book develops a theory of...

    Published May 19th 2014 by Routledge

  3. Theories of International Relations

    Edited by Siegfried Schieder, Manuela Spindler

    This book is a comprehensive guide to theories of International Relations (IR). Given the limitations of a paradigm-based approach, it sheds light on eighteen theories and new theoretical perspectives in IR by examining the work of key reference theorists. The chapters are all written to a common...

    Published May 14th 2014 by Routledge

  4. Emancipatory International Relations

    Critical Thinking in International Relations

    By Roger D. Spegele

    Series: New International Relations

    International relations theory is witnessing a veritable explosion of works within the areas of modernism and postmodernism, yet there has been no attempt to compare these theories and their sources according to a common criterion or logical form. This author argues that while these...

    Published May 13th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Sovereignty as Symbolic Form

    By Jens Bartelson

    Series: Critical Issues in Global Politics

    This book is a critical inquiry into sovereignty and argues that the meaning and functions performed by this concept have changed significantly during the past decades, with profound implications for the ontological status of the state and the modus operandi of the international system as a whole....

    Published May 8th 2014 by Routledge

  6. Security Unbound

    Enacting Democratic Limits

    By Jef Huysmans

    Series: Critical Issues in Global Politics

    Security concerns have mushroomed. Increasingly numerous areas of life are governed by security policies and technologies. Security Unbound argues that when insecurities pervade how we relate to our neighbours, how we perceive international politics, how governments formulate policies, at stake is...

    Published May 6th 2014 by Routledge

  7. The Realism Reader

    Edited by Colin Elman, Michael Jensen

    The Realism Reader provides broad coverage of a centrally important tradition in the study of foreign policy and international politics. After some years in the doldrums, political realism is again in contention as a leading tradition in the international relations sub-field. Divided into three...

    Published May 6th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Power in a Complex Global System

    Edited by Louis W. Pauly, Bruce W. Jentleson

    Can twenty-first century global challenges be met through the limited adaptation of existing political institutions and prevailing systemic norms, or is a more fundamental reconstitution of governing authority unavoidable? Are the stresses evident in domestic social compacts capable of undermining...

    Published May 2nd 2014 by Routledge

  9. Resilience

    The Governance of Complexity

    By David Chandler

    Series: Critical Issues in Global Politics

    Resilience has become a central concept in government policy understandings over the last decade. In our complex, global and interconnected world, resilience appears to be the policy ‘buzzword’ of choice, alleged to be the solution to a wide and ever-growing range of policy issues. This book...

    Published May 1st 2014 by Routledge

  10. A History of Critical International Relations Theory

    Reconstructing the Concept of Emancipation

    By Shannon Brincat

    Series: Routledge Research in International Relations Theory

    This book offers a conceptual history and reconstruction of the concept of emancipation as it has developed within the tradition of Critical Theory and Critical International Relations Theory. It meticulously details the emancipatory content of a number of related theorists in the critical...

    Published April 30th 2014 by Routledge