Skip to Content

Books by Subject

International Relations Theory Books

You are currently browsing 31–40 of 272 new and published books in the subject of International Relations Theory — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 4

  1. Power in a Complex Global System

    Edited by Louis W. Pauly, Bruce W. Jentleson

    Can twenty-first century global challenges be met through the limited adaptation of existing political institutions and prevailing systemic norms, or is a more fundamental reconstitution of governing authority unavoidable? Are the stresses evident in domestic social compacts capable of undermining...

    Published May 1st 2014 by Routledge

  2. Resilience

    The Governance of Complexity

    By David Chandler

    Series: Critical Issues in Global Politics

    Resilience has become a central concept in government policy understandings over the last decade. In our complex, global and interconnected world, resilience appears to be the policy ‘buzzword’ of choice, alleged to be the solution to a wide and ever-growing range of policy issues. This book...

    Published April 30th 2014 by Routledge

  3. A History of Critical International Relations Theory

    Reconstructing the Concept of Emancipation

    By Shannon Brincat

    Series: Routledge Research in International Relations Theory

    This book offers a conceptual history and reconstruction of the concept of emancipation as it has developed within the tradition of Critical Theory and Critical International Relations Theory. It meticulously details the emancipatory content of a number of related theorists in the critical...

    Published April 29th 2014 by Routledge

  4. Networked Governance and Transatlantic Relations

    Building Bridges through Science Diplomacy

    By Gabriella Paár-Jákli

    Series: Routledge Advances in International Relations and Global Politics

    In today’s complex and interconnected world, scholars of international relations seek to better understand challenges spurred by intensified global communication and interaction. The complex connectedness of modern society and politics compels us to investigate the pattern of interconnections among...

    Published April 27th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Russia–Iran Relations Since the End of the Cold War

    By Eric D. Moore

    Series: Durham Modern Middle East and Islamic World Series

    This book presents a comprehensive, systematic analysis of Russia– Iran relations in the period following the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991. It discusses the key areas – such as trade, arms sales, nuclear developments, and potential areas of friction in the Caspian Sea – where co-operation...

    Published April 14th 2014 by Routledge

  6. The Onset of World War (Routledge Revivals)

    By Manus I. Midlarsky

    Series: Routledge Revivals

    First published in 1988, this historical and quantitative analysis of war defines systemic world wars as conflicts of wide scope and intensity, which leave profound historical legacies in their wake. Manus Midlarsky examines various possible explanations for the onset of such past wars as the...

    Published April 7th 2014 by Routledge

  7. International Intervention in a Secular Age

    Re-Enchanting Humanity?

    By Audra Mitchell

    Series: Interventions

    International intervention is not just about ‘saving’ human lives: it is also an attempt to secure humanity’s place in the universe. This book explores the Western secular beliefs that underpin contemporary practices of intervention—most importantly, beliefs about life, death and the dominance of...

    Published April 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  8. The New Violent Cartography

    Geo-Analysis after the Aesthetic Turn

    Edited by Samson Opondo, Michael J. Shapiro

    Series: Interventions

    This edited volume seeks to propose and examine different, though related, critical responses to modern cultures of war among other cultural practices of statecraft. Taken together, these essays present a space of creative engagement with the political and draw on a broad range of cultural contexts...

    Published March 20th 2014 by Routledge

  9. The Political Economy of Global Capitalism and Crisis

    By Bill Dunn

    Series: RIPE Series in Global Political Economy

    The book provides a theoretically and historically informed analysis of the global economic crisis. It makes original contributions to theories of value, of crisis and of the state and uses these to develop a rich empirical study of the changing character of capitalism in the twentieth century and...

    Published March 18th 2014 by Routledge

  10. Constructing a Security Community in Southeast Asia

    ASEAN and the Problem of Regional Order, 3rd Edition

    By Amitav Acharya

    Series: Politics in Asia

    In this third edition of Constructing a Security Community in Southeast Asia, Amitav Acharya offers a comprehensive and critical account of the evolution of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) norms and the viability of the ASEAN way of conflict management. Building on the framework...

    Published March 16th 2014 by Routledge