Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Forthcoming Political Philosophy Books

You are currently browsing 1–10 of 249 forthcoming new books in the subject of Political Philosophy — sorted by publish date from upcoming books to future books.

For books that are already published; please browse available books.

Forthcoming Books

  1. Fictional International Relations

    Gender, Pain and Truth

    By Sungju Park-Kang

    Series: War, Politics and Experience

    This book proposes the idea of fictional International Relations (IR) and engages with feminist IR by contextualising the case of a woman spy in Korea in the Cold War. Fictional imagination and feminist IR encourage one to go beyond conventional or standard ways of thinking; it reshapes...

    To Be Published April 20th 2014 by Routledge

  2. The Open Society and its Enemies in East Asia

    The Relevance of the Popperian Framework

    Edited by Gregory G. C. Moore

    Series: Routledge Studies in the Modern World Economy

    The ideas contained in Karl Popper’s The Open Society and Its Enemies—one of the most important tracts in political philosophy in the twentieth century—are relevant to anyone seeking to understand the recent history of the East Asian economies. Even though Popper wrote his tract to provide an...

    To Be Published April 22nd 2014 by Routledge

  3. Religion, Secularism and Politics

    A Mediterranean View

    Edited by Jeffrey Haynes, Guy Ben-Porat

    Political debates in many Mediterranean countries today are increasingly framed in dichotomous terms, highlighting divisions between religious and secular worldviews. The role of religion in public life or, put another way, the ‘public return of religion’, is a pertinent and controversial political...

    To Be Published April 27th 2014 by Routledge

  4. A History of Critical International Relations Theory

    Reconstructing the Concept of Emancipation

    By Shannon Brincat

    Series: Routledge Research in International Relations Theory

    This book offers a conceptual history and reconstruction of the concept of emancipation as it has developed within the tradition of Critical Theory and Critical International Relations Theory. It meticulously details the emancipatory content of a number of related theorists in the critical...

    To Be Published April 29th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Arguing About Political Philosophy

    2nd Edition

    Edited by Matt Zwolinski

    Series: Arguing About Philosophy

    This second edition of Arguing About Political Philosophy is the most complete, up-to-date, and interdisciplinary anthology of its kind. Its selections cover both classic philosophical sources such as Hobbes and Rousseau, and contemporary figures such as Robert Nozick and G.A. Cohen. But additional...

    To Be Published April 29th 2014 by Routledge

  6. Corporate Social Responsibility and Human Rights in Asia

    By Robert J. Hanlon

    Series: Routledge Contemporary Asia Series

    As globalization has brought about new concerns and responsibilities for business, particularly in the realm of human rights, many multinational corporations (MNC) operating in Asia have argued that such rights are the responsibility of government. However, as globalization continues to improve...

    To Be Published April 29th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Monuments, Memory, Contestation

    Muslim Political Discourse in Postcolonial India

    By Hilal Ahmed

    This book seeks to establish a link between two different issues — the process by which historic buildings become monuments (or the process of ‘monumentalisation’) and gradual transformation of these historic/legal entities into political objects. Based on this vantage point, the work makes sense...

    To Be Published April 29th 2014 by Routledge India

  8. The Contradictions of Austerity

    The Socio-Economic Costs of the Neoliberal Baltic Model

    Edited by Jeffrey Sommers, Charles Woolfson

    Series: Routledge Studies in the European Economy

    The great financial crisis of 2008 and the ensuing global economic and financial turmoil have launched a search for "models" for recovery. The advocates of austerity present the Baltic States as countries that through discipline and sacrifice showed the way out of crisis. They have proposed the "...

    To Be Published April 30th 2014 by Routledge

  9. Football in Southeastern Europe

    From Ethnic Homogenization to Reconciliation

    Edited by John Hughson, Fiona Skillen

    Series: Sport in the Global Society – Contemporary Perspectives

    This volume draws together scholarship across a number of disciplines – history, sociology, media and cultural studies, political science, Slavonic studies – to examine the significance of the sport of football within Southeastern Europe, with an especial focus on countries of the former Yugoslavia...

    To Be Published May 1st 2014 by Routledge

  10. Citizenship After Orientalism

    An Unfinished Project

    Edited by Engin F Isin

    This collection offers a postcolonial critique of the ostensible superiority or originality of ‘Western’ political theory and one of its fundamental concepts, ‘citizenship’. The chapters analyse the undoing, uncovering, and reinventing of citizenship as a way of investigating citizenship as...

    To Be Published May 4th 2014 by Routledge