Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Political Theory Books

You are currently browsing 31–40 of 736 new and published books in the subject of Political Theory — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For books that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming books.

New and Published Books – Page 4

  1. Emancipatory International Relations

    Critical Thinking in International Relations

    By Roger D. Spegele

    Series: New International Relations

    International relations theory is witnessing a veritable explosion of works within the areas of modernism and postmodernism, yet there has been no attempt to compare these theories and their sources according to a common criterion or logical form. This author argues that while these...

    Published May 13th 2014 by Routledge

  2. Sovereignty as Symbolic Form

    By Jens Bartelson

    Series: Critical Issues in Global Politics

    This book is a critical inquiry into sovereignty and argues that the meaning and functions performed by this concept have changed significantly during the past decades, with profound implications for the ontological status of the state and the modus operandi of the international system as a whole....

    Published May 8th 2014 by Routledge

  3. Arguing About Political Philosophy

    2nd Edition

    Edited by Matt Zwolinski

    Series: Arguing About Philosophy

    This second edition of Arguing About Political Philosophy is the most complete, up-to-date, and interdisciplinary anthology of its kind. Its selections cover both classic philosophical sources such as Hobbes and Rousseau, and contemporary figures such as Robert Nozick and G.A. Cohen. But additional...

    Published May 7th 2014 by Routledge

  4. Citizenship After Orientalism

    An Unfinished Project

    Edited by Engin F Isin

    This collection offers a postcolonial critique of the ostensible superiority or originality of ‘Western’ political theory and one of its fundamental concepts, ‘citizenship’. The chapters analyse the undoing, uncovering, and reinventing of citizenship as a way of investigating citizenship as...

    Published May 7th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Believing in Russia - Religious Policy after Communism

    By Geraldine Fagan

    Series: Routledge Contemporary Russia and Eastern Europe Series

    This book presents a comprehensive overview of religious policy in Russia since the end of the communist regime, exposing many of the ambiguities and uncertainties about the position of religion in Russian life. It reveals how religious freedom in Russia has, contrary to the widely held view, a...

    Published May 7th 2014 by Routledge

  6. A History of Critical International Relations Theory

    Reconstructing the Concept of Emancipation

    By Shannon Brincat

    Series: Routledge Research in International Relations Theory

    This book offers a conceptual history and reconstruction of the concept of emancipation as it has developed within the tradition of Critical Theory and Critical International Relations Theory. It meticulously details the emancipatory content of a number of related theorists in the critical...

    Published April 30th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Politics of Difference

    Epistemologies of Peace

    By Hartmut Behr

    Series: Global Horizons

    This book develops a notion of differences and 'otherness' beyond hegemonic and hierarchical thinking as represented by the legacies of Western philosophical and political thought. In doing so, it relates to the phenomenological discourse of the twentieth century, especially to Georg Simmel, Alfred...

    Published April 30th 2014 by Routledge

  8. The Spatial Turn

    Interdisciplinary Perspectives

    Edited by Barney Warf, Santa Arias

    Series: Routledge Studies in Human Geography

    Across the disciplines, the study of space has undergone a profound and sustained transformation. Space, place, mapping, and geographical imaginations have become commonplace topics in a variety of analytical fields in part because globalization has accentuated the significance of location. While...

    Published April 28th 2014 by Routledge

  9. Good Money, Part II

    Volume Six of the Collected Works of F.A. Hayek

    Edited by Stephen Kresge

    Series: The Collected Works of F.A. Hayek

    Througout his life Hayek had a profound interest in money and its role within the economy. Money plays a critical part in his 1920s work on the trade cycle, which attempts to integrate capital theory and monetary theory. As late as the 1970s, Hayek was advocating radical reform of the monetary...

    Published April 24th 2014 by Routledge

  10. Good Money, Part I

    Volume Five of the Collected Works of F.A. Hayek

    Edited by Stephen Kresge

    Series: The Collected Works of F.A. Hayek

    Througout his life Hayek had a profound interest in money and its role within the economy. This volume, together with Volume Six, Good Money, Part Two, collect all of Hayek's significant writings on money. Together they amply demonstrate both the significance of 'sound money' in Hayek's economic...

    Published April 24th 2014 by Routledge