Skip to Content

Books by Subject

Forthcoming Psychological Science Books

You are currently browsing 51–60 of 585 forthcoming new books in the subject of Psychological Science — sorted by publish date from upcoming books to future books.

For books that are already published; please browse available books.

Forthcoming Books – Page 6

  1. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    To Be Published October 29th 2014 by Routledge

  2. Physicalism

    By K. V. Wilkes

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The primary aim of this study is to dissolve the mind-body problem. It shows how the ‘problem’ separates into two distinct sets of issues, concerning ontology on the one hand, and explanation on the other, and argues that explanation – whether or not human behaviour can be explained in physical...

    To Be Published October 29th 2014 by Routledge

  3. The Embodied Mind

    By G. N. A. Vesey

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Originally published in 1965. For hundreds of years the thinking of philosophers, psychologists, and theologians on the problem of the mind’s relation to the body was dominated by the Cartesian notion that mind and matter are distinct substances. That Descartes also held that there is a union of...

    To Be Published October 29th 2014 by Routledge

  4. Attention in Vision

    Perception, Communication and Action

    By A.H.C. van der Heijden

    Attention in Vision is an important work which aims to identify, address and solve some major problems and issues in the psychology of visual perception, attention and intentional control. The central aim is to investigate how people use their visual perception in the performance of tasks and to...

    To Be Published November 1st 2014 by Psychology Press

  5. Culture and Human Development

    The Importance of Cross-Cultural Research for the Social Sciences

    Edited by Wolfgang Friedlmeier, Pradeep Chakkarath, Beate Schwarz

    As intercultural encounters between people in the modern world become more common, important questions have been raised about the nature of culture-specific differences and similarities. Focusing on the relationship between culture and human development, this timely book offers an interdisciplinary...

    To Be Published November 1st 2014 by Psychology Press

  6. Proceedings of the Fourteenth Annual Conference of the Cognitive Science Society

    By Cognitive Science Society (US) Conference

    This volume features the complete text of all regular papers, posters, and summaries of symposia presented at the 14th annual meeting of the Cognitive Science Society....

    To Be Published November 1st 2014 by Psychology Press

  7. Cognitive Social Psychology

    The Princeton Symposium on the Legacy and Future of Social Cognition

    Edited by Gordon B. Moskowitz

    A comprehensive overview of the mechanisms involved in how cognitive processes determine thought and behavior toward the social world, Cognitive Social Psychology: *examines cognition as a motivated process wherein cognition and motivation are seen as intertwined; * reviews the latest research on...

    To Be Published November 1st 2014 by Psychology Press

  8. The Auditory Cortex

    A Synthesis of Human and Animal Research

    Edited by Peter Heil, Henning Scheich, Eike Budinger, Reinhard Konig

    Understanding human hearing is not only a scientific challenge but also a problem of growing social and political importance, given the steadily increasing numbers of people with hearing deficits or even deafness. This book is about the highest level of hearing in humans and other mammals. It...

    To Be Published November 1st 2014 by Psychology Press

  9. Individual Development and Evolution

    The Genesis of Novel Behavior

    By Gilbert Gottlieb

    This work is intended to portray the interrelationship of heredity, individual development, and the evolution of species in a way that can be understood by nonspecialists. In striving to offer a straightforward historical exposition of the complex topic of nature and nurture, the author tells the...

    To Be Published November 1st 2014 by Psychology Press

  10. Psychological Concepts

    An International Historical Perspective

    Edited by Kurt Pawlik, Gery d'Ydewalle

    Among the scientific advances over the last one hundred years, those in psychological science rank among the most prolific and revealing. The analyses of human intelligence and cognition, of human consciousness and self-awareness, of human memory and learning, and of human personality structure...

    To Be Published November 1st 2014 by Psychology Press