Skip to Content

Major Works

Major Works: Psychological Science

You are currently browsing 31–40 of 465 new and published major works in the subject of Psychological Science — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For major works that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming major works.

Routledge Major Works has a strong international focus and each of the sets is edited by a leading expert in their field. This publishing programme continues to grow with new book series being created all the time.

Titles published by Routledge Major Works cover an abundance of literature on leading and influential figures, key concepts, topics and sub-disciplines across the social sciences, humanities, behavioural sciences and law.

New and Published Books – Page 4

  1. Brain and Mind

    Modern Concepts of the Nature of Mind

    Edited by J. R. Smythies

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Presenting some modern views on the problem of the nature of mind and its relationship to the brain, this book, published in 1965, brings together contributors from various disciplines which are affected by this issue. Coming from different philosophical outlooks as well as subjects, these...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  2. The Mind and the Soul

    An Introduction to the Philosophy of Mind

    By Jenny Teichman

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The concepts of mind and soul have occupied the thoughts of philosophers throughout the ages and have given rise to numerous conflicting theories. This book provides an incisive and stimulating introduction to central tropics in the philosophy of mind. The author writes about the differences and...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  3. Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

    By Kenneth Sayre

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    This book, published in 1976, presents an entirely original approach to the subject of the mind-body problem, examining it in terms of the conceptual links between the physical sciences and the sciences of human behaviour. It is based on the cybernetic concepts of information and feedback and on...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  4. The Mental as Physical

    By Edgar Wilson

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  5. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  6. Physicalism

    By K. V. Wilkes

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The primary aim of this study is to dissolve the mind-body problem. It shows how the ‘problem’ separates into two distinct sets of issues, concerning ontology on the one hand, and explanation on the other, and argues that explanation – whether or not human behaviour can be explained in physical...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  7. The Embodied Mind

    By G. N. A. Vesey

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Originally published in 1965. For hundreds of years the thinking of philosophers, psychologists, and theologians on the problem of the mind’s relation to the body was dominated by the Cartesian notion that mind and matter are distinct substances. That Descartes also held that there is a union of...

    Published November 3rd 2014 by Routledge

  8. Gender and Psychology

    Edited by Vivien Burr

    Series: Critical Concepts in Psychology

    Nearly forty years after the passage of the Sex Discrimination and the Equal Pay Acts in the UK, and after similar legislative and judicial interventions in other jurisdictions around the world, women and men are still – by and large – following traditionally gendered educational and work careers....

    Published September 29th 2014 by Routledge

  9. A Taxonomy of Visual Processes

    By William R. Uttal

    Series: The Uttal Tetralogy of Cognitive Neuroscience

    Originally published in 1981, this third volume deals with the empirical data base and the theories concerning visual perception – the set of mental responses to photic stimulation of the eyes. As the book develops, the plan was to present a general taxonomy of visual processes and phenomena. It...

    Published June 13th 2014 by Psychology Press

  10. On Seeing Forms

    By William R. Uttal

    Series: The Uttal Tetralogy of Cognitive Neuroscience

    Originally published in 1988, this is the final volume in the set. The original intent of the tetralogy was to review neural explanations of high level perceptual and cognitive processes. However, at this point, it became clear that there were few neural explanations of perceptual topics – a...

    Published June 13th 2014 by Psychology Press