Skip to Content

Major Works

Major Works: Philosophy

You are currently browsing 1–10 of 780 new and published major works in the subject of Philosophy — sorted by publish date from newer books to older books.

For major works that are not yet published; please browse forthcoming major works.

Routledge Major Works has a strong international focus and each of the sets is edited by a leading expert in their field. This publishing programme continues to grow with new book series being created all the time. Worthy mentions include a new Sports Studies and Construction Series.

Titles published by Routledge Major Works cover an abundance of literature on leading and influential figures, key concepts, topics and sub-disciplines across the social sciences, humanities, behavioural sciences and law.

New and Published Books

  1. Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    By Various

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Reissuing works originally published between 1949 and ‘79, this set presents a rich selection of renowned scholarship across the subject, touching also on ethics, religion, and psychology and other behavioural science. Classic previously out-of-print works are brought back into print here in this...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  2. Matter, Mind and Meaning

    By Whately Carington

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    This volume is concerned with the philosophical foundations of Psychical Research. Traditional metaphysical theories have led to apparently insoluble problems concerning the nature of mind, of matter and the relation between the two. The author holds that these theories arise from misconception...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  3. Brain and Mind

    Modern Concepts of the Nature of Mind

    Edited by J. R. Smythies

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Presenting some modern views on the problem of the nature of mind and its relationship to the brain, this book, published in 1965, brings together contributors from various disciplines which are affected by this issue. Coming from different philosophical outlooks as well as subjects, these...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  4. The Mind and the Soul

    An Introduction to the Philosophy of Mind

    By Jenny Teichman

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The concepts of mind and soul have occupied the thoughts of philosophers throughout the ages and have given rise to numerous conflicting theories. This book provides an incisive and stimulating introduction to central tropics in the philosophy of mind. The author writes about the differences and...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  5. Cybernetics and the Philosophy of Mind

    By Kenneth Sayre

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    This book, published in 1976, presents an entirely original approach to the subject of the mind-body problem, examining it in terms of the conceptual links between the physical sciences and the sciences of human behaviour. It is based on the cybernetic concepts of information and feedback and on...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  6. The Mental as Physical

    By Edgar Wilson

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The central theme of this impressively argued study is that the mental and physical are identical. Drawing heavily on recent scientific research into the mind-brain relationship, Dr Wilson argues that human mentality, rationality and purposefulness are phenomena which come within the compass of...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  7. Values and Intentions

    A Study in Value-theory and Philosophy of Mind

    By J. N. Findlay

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Professor Findlay in this book, originally published in 1961, set out to justify, and to some extent carry out, a ‘material value-ethic’, ie. A systematic setting forth of the ends of rational action. The book is in the tradition of Moore, Rashfall, Ross, Scheler and Hartmann though it avoids...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  8. Physicalism

    By K. V. Wilkes

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    The primary aim of this study is to dissolve the mind-body problem. It shows how the ‘problem’ separates into two distinct sets of issues, concerning ontology on the one hand, and explanation on the other, and argues that explanation – whether or not human behaviour can be explained in physical...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  9. The Embodied Mind

    By G. N. A. Vesey

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Philosophy of Mind

    Originally published in 1965. For hundreds of years the thinking of philosophers, psychologists, and theologians on the problem of the mind’s relation to the body was dominated by the Cartesian notion that mind and matter are distinct substances. That Descartes also held that there is a union of...

    Published October 28th 2014 by Routledge

  10. Material Culture and Text

    The Art of Ambiguity

    By Christopher Tilley

    Series: Routledge Library Editions: Archaeology

    Originally published in 1991, this is the first book-length exploration of post-structuralist discourse theory in archaeology. It tackles the most basic problem of historical and archaeological analysis - the relationship between text and artefact – in an analysis of prehistoric art fusing theory...

    Published October 23rd 2014 by Routledge